Surf & Mull & Sex & Fun: The Classic Recordings Of Mental As Anything Red/White 2 LP Vinyl

sale price$59.00 AUD

gst inc

• free shipping in Australia for all orders over $100.00

• see shipping policy for shipping costs on international orders or use shipping calculator. shipping costs will be added at checkout.

return to store

This double LP compilation is pressed on 2 x 140g coloured vinyl for the first time (red and white) by Demon Records.  Presented in a gatefold sleeve including art by band members including the cover art by Reg. The original work in charcoal and coloured pencil on paper from 2019 is titled Surf and Mull and Sex and Fun and was part of Reg's Simplisticism III exhibition.

Surf & Mull & Sex & Fun – The Classic Recordings of Mental As Anything - showcasing some of the biggest and best loved songs in Australian popular music from the seventies and eighties.

Since the release of Get Wet in November 1979, Mental As Anything has had 25 singles in the Australian Top 40, a record for an Australian act that the Mentals held until the mid-nineties. They also had chart success in Europe, the UK, Canada and New Zealand, and their iconic single “Live It Up” still has constant radio rotation in the UK and Europe more than 30 years after it charted at number 4 in the UK, number 3 in Germany and number 1 in Scandinavia.

Mental As Anything was the first signing for Regular Records, who released the band’s first single, “The Nips Are Getting Bigger”, in August 1979 ahead of the Get Wet release. Through more than a dozen studio albums the songs included “Come Around”, “If You Leave Me, Can I Come Too?”, “Too Many Times”, “Berserk Warriors”, “Spirit Got Lost”, “You’re So Strong” and “Live It Up”, which was released in 1984 and was guaranteed its international longevity by being featured in the 1986 movie Crocodile Dundee.

Mentals songs also turned up on the soundtracks of other films including Young Einstein, Animal Kingdom, and most recently in this year’s British indie hit Blinded By The Light.

Since their first gig in 1977 – on the same momentous August date that both INXS and The Boys Next Door made their public debuts, also the date that Elvis Presley died – membership of Mental As Anything has varied, but the mainstays of the band have always been Greedy Smith and Martin Plaza, and in those hit making years Reg Mombassa and Peter Mombassa were equally pivotal tunesmiths.

Track Listing


  1. The Nips Are Getting Better
  2. Egypt
  3. (Just Like) Romeo & Juliet
  4. Come Around
  5. Too Many Times
  6. If You Leave Me Can I Come Too
  7. Berserk Warriors
  8. Let's Cook
  9. I Didn't Mean To Be Mean
  10. Close Again
  11. Spirit Got Lost
  12. Brain Brain
  13. Working For The Man
  14. Apocalypso
  15. You're So trong
  16. Live It Up
  17. Date With Destiny
  18. Let's Go To Paradise
  19. He's Just No Good For You
  20. Don't Tell Me Now
  21. Concrete And Clay
  22. Rock 'N' Roll Music
  23. The World Seems Difficult
  24. Mr Natural
  25. Nigel
  26. Surf & Mull & Sex & Fun

payment options

American Express Apple Pay Google Pay JCB Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Visa

shipping calculator


© 2021 Reg Mombassa